Header Image 1
Header image


The work of a School Governor is varied and interesting. It involves challenge and debate but it is also very rewarding, especially in a school like HGPS.

There are currently 12 members on our Governing Board including parent governors, Local Authority governors, staff governors and co-opted governors. The full Governing Board has regular termly meetings and adopts the principles of open government so staff, parents and interested members of the public are welcome to attend. All members have full voting rights.

All our governors volunteer to undertake this role and do not claim any travelling or subsistence allowances for expenses incurred during their work as governors.

Minutes of meetings are published and available in school to anybody who wishes to read them. Copies of these can be provided by the office staff.

At HGPS the Governing Board has 3 very active Sub Groups which meet regularly to discuss matters (and vote where necessary):

  • Teaching and Learning – which deals with Learning, Curriculum and Policies.
  • Resources and Finance – which deals with Finance, Staffing, Policies and Premises issues.
  • Steering group – which deals with a strategic overview of the school.

We are very proud of our Governing Board’s excellent record of proactive and supportive involvement in sharing in the leadership and management of the school for the benefit of all the pupils at HGPS.

For more information about the role and work of a Governor please follow the link here to Stockport Council’s Governance web page.

Our Governors work hard in a voluntary capacity to support the school and act as ‘critical friends’ to ensure that the very best experience is provided for all associated with it.

Two governors have a relevant business interest in school and no governors have relevant material interests in school. 

All meetings in the last 12 months have been 100% quorate.

Visit the Our Team page to meet our Governors.

Further information about our governors such as the committee list, and governor details can be viewed in the tables below and downloaded in the links & downloads section of this page.

Our Governors

Current Governors
Previous Governors
NameMembership CategoryFirst AppointedTerm of OfficeCommittee ServedPositions of ResponsibilityPecuniary Interests
Mr Adam HossenHeadteacher12/04/21Resources & Finance Committee, Steering Group, Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Miss Jen ThirlawayStaff05/10/1805/10/18 - 04/10/22Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Mrs Lynsey CooperParent14/10/1914/10/19 - 13/10/23Pay Appeals Committee, Steering Group, Teaching & Learning CommitteeChair of Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Mr Ian HalfordParent14/10/1914/10/19 - 13/10/23Pay Committee, Performance Management, Resources & Finance Committee, Steering GroupChair of Resources & Finance CommitteeEmployed by Procure Plus who procure labour and materials primarily for social housing but also other public bodies
Mrs Susan WilkinsonParent01/03/1901/13/19 - 28/02/23Pay Committee, Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Vacancy (1)Parentn/an/an/an/an/a
Mrs Heather EtheridgeCo-opted20/09/1620/09/20 - 19/09/24Pay Committee, Performance Management, Steering Group, Teaching & Learning CommitteeVice-Chair of Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Mr Callum RimmerCo-opted09/03/2009/03/20 - 09/03/24Resources & Finance Committee Teacher is the brother of a friend. Mother is a senior HR Officer at SMBC
Mark SaxonCo-opted01/09/9812/02/19 - 11/02/23Pay Appeals Committee, Resources & Finance Committee, Teaching & Learning CommitteeVice-Chair of Resources & Finance CommitteeNone
Mr John WilsonCo-opted08/03/2108/03/21 - 07/03/25Teaching & Learning CommitteeNone
Vacancy (1)Co-optedn/an/an/an/an/a
Vacancy (2)Co-optedn/an/an/an/an/a
Vacancy (3)Co-optedn/an/an/an/an/a
Vacancy (1)Local Authorityn/an/an/an/an/a
NameMembership CategoryFirst AppointedTerm of OfficeCommittee ServedPositions of ResponsibilityPecuniary Interests
Anna RochePrevious Headteacher
Mrs Geraldine RoseCo-Headteacher Autumn 20 - Spring 21
David Hulley
Mrs Rosy Thompson
Cathy Wilks

Governor Attendance at Meetings

Use the drop down menus to view the Attendance at meetings for each Governor Committee.

Full Governing Body Meetings 2020/21

GovernorGovernor Type9th Nov 20208th Mar 2021
Mr Adam HossenHeadteacher
Miss Jen ThirlawayStaffAttendedApologies Sent
Mrs Lynsey CooperParentAttendedAttended
Mr Ian HalfordParentAttendedAttended
Mrs Susan WilkinsonParentAttendedApologies Sent
Mrs Heather EtheridgeCo-optedAttendedAttended
Mr Callum RimmerCo-optedAttendedAttended
Mark SaxonCo-optedAttendedAttended
Mr John WilsonCo-optedAttended
David HulleyAttended
Anna RocheHeadteacherAttended
Mrs Geraldine Rose (DHT - in attendance)Co-HeadteacherAttendedApologies Sent

Teaching & Learning Committee Meetings 2020/21

GovernorGovernor Type28th Sep 202023rd Nov 20201st Mar 202110th May 202128th Jun 2021
Mrs Lynsey Cooper (Chair)ParentAttendedAttendedAttendedAttendedAttended
Mrs Heather Etheridge (Vice Chair)Co-optedAttendedAttendedAttendedAttendedAttended
Mr Adam HossenHeadteacherAttendedAttended
Mrs Geraldine Rose (DHT - in attendance)Co-Headteacher Autumn 20 - Spring 21AttendedAttendedApologies Sent
Mark SaxonCo-optedApologies SentAttendedAttendedAttendedApologies Sent
Miss Jen ThirlawayStaffAttendedAttendedAttendedAttendedApologies Sent
Mrs Susan WilkinsonParentNo Apologies SentAttendedAttendedAttendedAttended
Mr John WilsonCo-optedNo Apologies SentAttended

Resources & Finance Committee Meetings 2020/21

GovernorGovernor Type12th Oct 20208th Feb 202117th May 2021
Mr Ian Halford (Chair)ParentNo Apologies SentAttendedAttended
Mr Adam HossenHeadteacherAttended
Mr Callum RimmerCo-optedAttendedAttendedAttended
Mrs Geraldine Rose (DHT - in attendance)Co-Headteacher Autumn 20 - Spring 21AttendedApologies Sent
Mark Saxon (Vice Chair)Co-optedAttendedAttendedAttended
Mrs Cathy Wilks (SBM - in attendance)